Brighton Zeuner and Alex Sorgente Declared 2018 Vans Park Series Champions

That’s a wrap! The 2018 Vans Park Series Pro Tour closes out an incredible season of premier park terrain skateboarding in the historic city of Suzhou, China, crowning Brighton Zeuner and Alex Sorgente as the new 2018 Vans Park Series champions. Zeuner and Sorgente both celebrate their second VPS champion titles, since claiming victory at the inaugural VPS Championships in 2016.

Zeuner stunned the crowds with her effortless style, landing her signature backside 360 in every run and topping it off with a kickflip indy, one of the few flip tricks of the women’s event. Earning a place on the podium at every stop this season, Zeuner took her first 2018 event victory in China today, to secure the 2018 VPS Women’s Champion title. Joining Zeuner on the podium in 2nd place, Brazil’s Yndiara Asp graces the podium yet again, demonstrating a fierce last run in the finals, as she attacked every wall with an aggressive style, and charging every second with high speed. In third, Jordyn Barratt’s powerful command of the massive VPS course proved effective, producing clean lines, big tricks and high scores overall.

It was an extemely close call in the Men’s final round, seeing Brazil favorite Pedro Barros and USA’s Alex Sorgente challenge each other’s scores until the bitter end, when Sorgente laid down a crowd pleasing, trick-heavy run to yield the highest score of the day. Sorgente wasted no time on the clock, relying on his technical talent to hit every wall in the park for the win. Runner up Barros’ overall season performance has been astounding, appearing on every podium to emerge as the most consistent skater on tour. After a short hiatus due to injury, Tom Schaar returns to the series to place third in the Pro Finals, wowing the crowd with his huge airs and phenomenal abilities.

Looking ahead to the inaugural World Skate Park Skateboarding World Championships to be held in Nanjing, China next week, the top 8 men and women finalists from the VPS Pro Finals will be pre-seeded into the semi-finals for the first-ever Olympic-sanctioned event in skateboarding history. Congratulations to everyone!


1. Alex Sorgente (USA)
2. Pedro Barros (BRA)
3. Tom Schaar (USA)
4. Jagger Eaton (USA)
5. CJ Collins (USA)
6. Patrick Ryan (USA)
7. Cory Juneau (USA)
8. Roman Pabich (USA)


1. Brighton Zeuner (USA)
2. Yndiara Asp (BRA)
3. Jordyn Barratt (USA)
4. Sakura Yosozumi (JPN)
5. Poppy Starr Olsen (AUS)
6. Kisa Nakamura (JPN)
7. Kokona Hiraki (JPN)
8. Nicole Hause (USA)

Touching down on every major continent over the last six months including Brazil, Canada, Sweden, United States, South Africa and China, the 2018 Vans Park Series tour has witnessed a remarkable assemblage of international talent emerge from the series, bringing a diverse mix of skateboarding creativity and skill into the spotlight.