Jason Watts Defends Vans BMX Pro Cup Series Mexico Title

Mexico Pro Cup Series

Mexico Pro Cup Series VANS BMX


Vans BMX Pro Cup Series Mexico


The 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup witnessed an incredible finish in Guadalajara, Mexico this past weekend as the industry’s leading professional men and women BMX riders battled for their last-chance at the podium before the series’ highly-anticipated World Championships finale. For the third and final Pro Tour event, defending Vans Pro Cup Guadalajara event winner Jason Watts triumphed yet again, surpassing his peers to mark his second consecutive victory in Mexico since 2017.

Merging smooth style with his signature manuals and seamless tricks at the Montenegro Skatepark, Watts remarked, “to win here again in Mexico feels absolutely amazing. I really like riding this park and with a bit of luck on my side, I somehow pulled through.”

Returning to the podium for a second time this season, Sergio Layos’ high speed riding and unyielding style unlocked unique lines that stunned the Montenegro crowd, including a massive 360 transfer that earned him Best Line award and second-place. Australia’s Boyd Hilder placed third, showcasing incredible technical consistency, and shaking up the overall series points rankings with a Canadian nose pick on the stone face wall.

Bringing women’s BMX to new heights, first place qualifier Angie Marino’s enormous no-hander bowl transfer and effortless big air style granted her the event’s Best Trick award and a hard-earned Vans BMX Pro Cup maiden victory. Women’s BMX legend and USA rider Nina Buitrago took second with a daring feeble grind bowl transfer, while the Chilean rider Macarena Perez’s impressive tailwhip and high airs put her in third.

“Mexico couldn’t have been a better place to win my first Pro Cup,” Marino stated with sheer excitement. “The fans are so passionate, they gave me an extra push to go faster and higher because everyone gets so excited.”

The world title race continues, with pressure mounting on current Vans BMX ProCup World Champion Larry Edgar and Spanish rider Teresa Azcoaga, who clinch the series lead against the world’s greatest professional BMX riders hungry for the coveted world title. The Vans BMX Pro Cup Series World Championships will take place in Málaga, Spain on September 23 to crown the official 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion. For complete results, highlights, and information athletes and more, please visit www.vansbmxprocup.com.


Jason Watts
Sergio Layos
Boyd Hilder
Larry Edgar
Gary Young
Alex Hiam
Kevin Peraza
Kris Fox
Matty Cranmer
Corey Bohan

BEST TRICK – Sergio Layos with his 360 transfer from elbow to spine

VANS BEST LINE – Gary Young with a step-up gap from the shallow bowl into the deep bowl, to massive table over the elbow


Angie Marino
Nina Buitrago
Macarena Perez
Teresa Azcoaga
Margarita Valenzuela Meraz
Jesse Gregory
Dayana Lopez
Tania Torres Reyes
Michelle Gomez

BEST TRICK – Angie Marino with her no-hander transfer from bowl to bowl

VANS BMX Pro Cup Series Angie Marino


VANS BMX Pro Cup Series Mexico 2018